Free Shipping from Swap.com!

There’s nothing I love more than a good thrift store find. As a teacher, I keep my own stash of kids’ clothing in my classroom for muddy days and messy lessons. There’s no point in buying brand new clothes for my dearests, especially because I rarely get them back. Although sifting through the school lost-and-found often gives some options for my students in a pinch, we don’t always find the right size in the bin. It would ruin my day if a student is uncomfortable when learning because they were splashing in puddles or painting a mural! My kids have taught me that the most fun and rewarding things in life are often the messiest.

download.jpg

From http://maxpixel.freegreatpicture.com/photo-70783, CC0 Public Domain

When I discovered Swap.com, I was on a hunt for child-sized snow pants (living in New England, it’s impossible to get through the winter months without them!) I did not want to spend a fortune on new snow pants, but my local thrift stores didn’t have any in the right size. A little poking around brought me to Swap.com, the largest online consignment and thrift store. The webpage operates like any other online retailer, with helpful search filters and options to find exactly what you’re looking for. While I’ve shopped for children’s items only, there are “departments” for women, men, kids, baby, maternity, and toys and games. There’s even a clearance section across all of the departments, which is where I’ve found most of my purchases.

So, back to the snow pants:  Swap.com had several pairs, and I bought two. Each was less than $10 and in excellent used condition. Next came several pairs of unisex sweatpants and an unopened 10-pack of children’s socks. I’m about to “invest” in some shorts, given that I had 3 pairs “borrowed” yesterday!

Not only are these purchases extremely inexpensive (think $4-6 for a pair of kids pants), they ship quickly, can be ordered from home conveniently, and encourage reuse and recycling of perfectly good clothing. As stated in their mission,

Our mission is to be the largest online consignment and thrift store in the world, helping our customers to be environmentally sustainable consumers while saving money on their favorite brands. We do this by making it easier than ever before to buy and sell pre-owned items from clothing and apparel to toys and games for men, women and kids.

While I have never tried to sell my items on Swap.com, it must be straightforward, given that the site has over two million unique items for sale. For information on selling your items, see this link. I just went through my summer clothes to get ready for the new season, so maybe I will try selling on Swap.com and report back on my experience.

If you’re ready to start shopping, you’re in luck–Swap.com is offering FREE SHIPPING on all items until tonight (Saturday, 4/29 at 11:59PM)!!! It’s the perfect opportunity to give Swap.com a try.  Just use this code at checkout: FS042829

Swap.com-online-consignment-logo-2015

By Justinknechtel (Own work) [CC BY-SA 4.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Do you have a favorite thrift store or online re-seller? Tell me all about it in the comments!

Stay savvy,

–Kim

Leave a Reply

